food photography

Do you ever look at a picture of a recipe in a cookbook or online and think how amazingly delicious it looks?  Does it make you want to go make it right away and enjoy all its goodness?  Recently I have been taken with food photography.  How much a picture can make a dish look absolutely delightful or completely terrible.  I have been using dinnertime as an opportunity to capture my new subjects.  Already I have learned a few things…

– always shoot in the day time

 My kitchen does not have the best lighting (via fixtures) and once the sun sets, all is lost.  I already love the natural light so I just have to make a point to capture my delicious subjects before sunset.  I am also thankful we are headed into the season of longer days.

 – how food is portrayed is of utter importance

I am not aiming to publish a cookbook or anything (boy would that be fun) but I can see how food is portrayed, platered, prepared can really make a difference in how appealing it is.  Who would have thought what bowl to what back ground would make such a difference.  For now, I just work with what I have.

– I can’t quite decide if it’s the color of my countertop or the big silver sink that is the bigger eye sore

Vain, I know.

– talking to my subjects (i.e. food) makes me a bit of a crazy lady I think

4 thoughts on “food photography

    1. ha ha. sometimes you just need that morning caffeine! but wait, i misspell things all the time, morning, noon and night! =)

  1. I need to learn how to use my camera at all. Mike gets frustrated with me, so maybe you could fly down and do a weekend photo taking class. Yes, let’s make that happen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

